Fear and Loathing
Independence

Fear and Loathing at one o’clock

These blogs will be published at one o’clock each day.

Just so you can stay regular. You can subscribe to get updates by email if you like – click the ‘follow’ at the bottom.

I’m using the title ‘Fear and Loathing‘ in homage to one of my favourite writers, Hunter S Thompson. Hunter also wrote a great deal about politics, and his ‘Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72‘ about the 1972 US presidential Campaign is a masterwork of political writing. God alone knows what Hunter would have made of the Scottish Independence campaign trail.

Hunter was a larger than life character, the original Gonzo journalist, who was not afraid of making his viewpoint clear. Here’s what he said on the death of Richard Nixon.

He has poisoned our water forever. Nixon will be remembered as a classic case of a smart man shitting in his own nest. But he also shit in our nests, and that was the crime that history will burn on his memory like a brand. By disgracing and degrading the Presidency of the United States, by fleeing the White House like a diseased cur, Richard Nixon broke the heart of the American Dream. [Full article]

Now I don’t claim to be a writer on a level with Hunter. But I’m giving you notice that I am writing in the same spirit of anger, searching for truth, and stomping ruthlessly on dishonesty and cheating that he always displayed for me.

So I am going to be taking sides, and I may call some people ugly names.

I’ll probably swear, I’ll draw questionable comparisons, I’ll possibly get emotional, and I may sometimes write while under the influence. I may write thinly disguised parables where animals get body parts shot off.  But I’ll try to write the truth that Hunter always looked for. It’s sometimes going to be an ugly ride. And sometimes, it may not even be one o’clock. But it will be worth it.

The prize is a better country for the people of Scotland. And that’s only 99 days away.

Standard